photo
Photo : crédits Robert PALOMBA Photographer
photo
Photo : crédits Robert PALOMBA Photographer

The history of Colmars tells of the church of "St. John Outside the Walls" destroyed by the fire of 1672. It was rebuilt on the same site between 1681 and 1696 and included in the fortified enclosure but under the name of the church of Saint Martin.

Description

The Saint-Martin Church in Colmars-les-Alpes, rebuilt between 1681 and 1696 after the fire at the Saint-Jean hors les murs church, is part of the town's fortified walls. Designed as a defensive element, it features a sober and massive Provençal Gothic architecture.

The original portal, dating from 1530, bears a Latin inscription and the Flemish motto "AL OM BETTER." Inside, the Gothic nave, the multi-ribbed ribbed vaults, and the 17th-century doubleaux testify to a harmonious blend of styles. The multicolored glazed tile roof enhances the whole.

To discover :

the altarpiece of the Rosary (17th century),

the listed altarpiece of the Souls of Purgatory (c. 1740),

the restored Stations of the Cross,

the village's coat of arms on a pillar.

Outside: the war memorial and the original Saint-Jean gate.
A side chapel closed to the public, dedicated to the Virgin, preserves a wrought iron bell tower, typical of Lower Provence.

Other details

In winter the church is closed and mass is celebrated in the Saint Joseph chapel on the town hall square.

Comfort and amenities

Equipment

  • Parking in the area

Accessibility

  • Wheelchair access requires assistance
  • Reserved place for people with reduced mobility
  • Accessible entrance

Rates / opening

Prices

Free access.

Updated on 01/03/2023 - Verdon Tourisme Intercommunal Tourist Office - Suggest an edit: direction@verdontourisme.com